Starting Week 7

I am now deep in the EDUC 4151 course but I can also see that the end is in sight.  I really enjoyed the unit on Community, but the topic of Assessment also interests me.  When I took the Assessment course in the PIDP program, I loved learning about the different considerations when building assessment instruments and the different types of instruments that are available.  The concept of alignment was new to me then, but it makes sense that the curriculum, instruction, and assessment should all be closely aligned.  I also enjoyed learning about validity and reliability – though they are both related concepts, they emphasize slightly different aspects of effective assessment tools.

I am currently working my way through the readings from the Assessment unit and I hope to start working on my activity this evening.  It sounds like a great activity that will be applicable to the EDUC 4152 course as well as my own teaching.

Leave a Reply

